Gale Force Nine To Supply Localised Language Dungeons & Dragons Books!

March 21, 2017 by brennon

Wizards Of The Coast are partnering with Gale Force Nine as they begin the process of localising the books and more from the Dungeons & Dragons allowing you to experience the well-known role-playing game in many different languages!

DND Player'sHandbook-German-FRONT

To begin with, they are going to be localising the Player’s Handbook, Dungeon Master’s Guide, Monster Manual and D&D Starter Set but they will then continue to expand this to cover many more books and the accessories designed and developed by Gale Force Nine themselves.

DND MonsterManual-German-FRONT

As you can see here they are going to be designing the books in German but also many other languages including French, Italian, Spanish, Polish, Portuguese and Japanese.

There is no exact date for the role out of the books in these different languages but we’re assured that it will be sooner rather than later. A few questions popped up in the press release too so here’s a rundown of the answers…

Q: Why have you chosen Gale Force Nine instead of working directly in each country?

A: Partnering with just one licensee on the program ensures a more consistent roll-out across all other languages as well as a dedicated team in the U.K. working closely with translation teams and European printers.

Q: Will translated products be for sale at my friendly local game store?

A: The distribution varies by country, but for the most part your local hobby shop and book channel stores should have access to DUNGEONS  & DRAGONS products at prices comparable to current U.S. and U.K. products published directly by Wizards of the Coast.

Q: How do people in each market find out more?

A: As part of this release, we will be directing people in each of the markets to our local distribution partners and their websites to find out more. This information will also be on the Gale Force Nine site.

So there you have it. A big year for fans of Dungeons & Dragons around the world as you might be getting yourself copies of the book in your language.

This is a great bit of news!

"As you can see here they are going to be designing the books in German but also many other languages including French, Italian, Spanish, Polish, Portuguese and Japanese..."