Beasts of War | Groups | 3D Printing For Tabletop | Forum | Printing a (second) Tiger!

Beasts of War Homepage

Forge of Destiny Facebook - Click Here

Group Admins

3D Printing For Tabletop

Public Group active 1 day, 3 hours ago

A forum Dedicated to 3D Printing primarily for Tabletop

Printing a (second) Tiger! (21 posts)

← Group Forum   Group Forum Directory
  • Avatar Image georgesealy390p said 5 months, 2 weeks ago:

I’ve been looking forward to’s upcoming Kickstarter for lots of 3d tank models, both real and sci-fi. The quality they show off on their site is impressive, and I like the “kit” approach they take to the printing – that is, break a model up into smaller parts so that you can reduce printing artefacts as much as possible.

They already have a few models for sale, so it seemed a good chance to go ahead and try them out when I found this:

What follows is my warts and all attempt to build one of these models. I’m no expert, so advice and thoughts are welcome!

A few details first off. My printer is a Wanhao D6 and I use the Cura software that came bundled with it. I’m printing everything at 0.1mm layers. I’ve modified my configuration slightly to make the sides / top / bottom 3 layers thick, rather than the default 2, to try and get a better finish. I use 20% infill, except on a few of the smaller parts where I set it to 100% to be as strong as possible.

I tend to group several parts into a single print, depending on the time I have available. Each of the model parts is oriented to try and minimise the layer artefacts you get when printing. You can see the benefits of this on the rear of the hull:

If this was a single model to print, there is no way you could get this nice a result on an angled surface like this. So we’re off to a nice start. And then I try to print the gun: