Beasts of War Homepage

Introducing the World’s greatest Gaming Newsletters! In the World, Probably! - Sign Up FREE Today! - Click Here

Group Admins

Malifaux

Public Group active 2 weeks, 4 days ago

Group about Malifaux from Wyrd miniatures

Newbie looking for advice (3 posts)

← Group Forum   Group Forum Directory
  • Avatar Image osyrn said 1 year, 11 months ago:

Hey all, I’m a newbie to miniatures and miniature gaming (long time board game player). I’ve been doing some research into how to get into miniature gaming and have come up with a few options, Malifaux being one of them, and was looking for some advice. I recently backed Mike McVey’s Sedition Wars: Battle for Alabaster on Kickstarter (one, because the minis look bad ass, two, the game looks pretty cool too, and I do realize it is more of a tactical miniatures board game).

So, I was looking to start with a skirmish miniatures game (before potentially jumping into the large scale tabletop miniature wargames) and originally ran across MERCS, which looks really good, but I saw some comments about it’s shortcomings that made me look elsewhere. While researching MERCS I found a review on BGG and one comment that was posted was this, “If you like this game (MERCS) and are fairly new to skirmish level mini-games I’d recommend checking out Malifaux. Its a game that really breaks away from the mold to do something different. Plus the mini’s happen to be awesome. In terms of competitive balance the game is pretty tight.”

Based on that, I started researching Malifaux and was instantly blown away. The minis look awesome and the card based (lack of dice) aspect really appeals to me since I already play a lot of board games and RPGs that use dice. Also, I love the themes (steampunk, victorian horror, etc., etc.).