Dropzone Commander Second Edition Anno...
Unboxing: Dark Souls – The Board...
Tactical Warfare In The Fantasy Genre:...
TheTerrainTutor Builds The Fabled Real...
Weekender XLBS: The Joys Of Board Game...
May 7, 2010 by johnlyons
I have a question about Orbital bombardment. Can it be used when the character using it is in close combat? I asked this at my club and they straight out said no and I didn’t give it another thought, because you can’t shoot in close combat. But, after seeing this video I kind of don’t see why it couldn’t. The way I see it is, Orbital bombardment isn’t the character shooting, its really only him sending a radio message to a ship flying over the battlefield, or something like that. Maybe I’m wrong but If you guys at BOW find an answer to this please let me know.
P.S. It might seem silly to Orbital bombardment your own character but I did it once in a friendly independent character fight and killed all three independent character in the fight.
I cant be done mate as its a shooting attack and sadly you cant shoot in combat however to me it does make sense it being a free thing with a radio transmission not being hard to do regardless of currant situation! ;D
If I remember correctly it actually is stated that the Chapter Master has to stand still in the turn before he chooses to use Orbital Strike (I guess fluffwise, that would simulate him calling int the coordinates for the strike maybe?)… which may or may not actually have an impact on the video above as well.
What about master of the ordanance? I don’t know his rules but if its simalar to bombardmant you could keep him in reserve.
Doesn’t the space marine commander need LOS to call in the Orbital Bombardment?
No mate, as long he’s on the board its the same as an IG Basilisk.
Hey guys, sorry to re-hash an old discussion but how about Tau Seeker missiles in regards to this.
A few thoughts. The attack is used during the shooting phase, you would have to convince me that a reserved unit gets turn phases before being deployed. Second, if this is allowed then things like hunterkiller missles on vehicles could be fired from reserve, as they require no line of sight nor do they have range. This could also be expanded to units that provide psychic defense, can you psychic hood stop an attack if that unit isn’t deployed. It seems to me that the natural feel of this rule not being right is the correct one.
Fluff and spirit of the rule wise i like this. Guard Officer of the Fleet & Astropath, Eldar Autarch and Tyranid Swarmlords special rules affect there control of the battlefield. These effects are used off the table as standard during tournaments. I don’t see ordering an orbital missile, or a far off artillery battery (in the case of the Master of Ordinance) being any different. If it came up in a game I’m playing I’d happily let my opponent do it (I may not like the results but hey, that’s wargaming)
Would the grey knights orbital strike relay apply to this?
You guys talked about lighting claw re roll to wound if you just have it. So for more cheese can you Orbital Bombardment with the lighting claw and re roll the wounds?
Click here to cancel reply.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
Battleboards Show Off Some Fantastic Orc Goodness
A Hail Of Arrows Rains From The Deepwood Archers of RuneWars
Three Ronin Brothers Bring Their Swords To Bushido
BBC’s DR Who Roleplaying Game Enters Humble Bundle
40 Projects This Week
41 Projects Last Week
48 Projects Two Weeks Ago
A Death Eater Dons Their Mask At Knight Models
Micro Art Unearth Ancient Oval Bases
Puppets War’s Mech Gets A Few Upgrades
Nicol Bolas Is Back In The Hour Of Devastation For MTG
Space Marine Codex + New Reiver, Aggressor & Redemptor Kits On Pre-Order
Go Diving In Antenociti’s Workshop’s Dumpsters & More
Hyacinth Games Has A New Face Coming To The Wreck-Age Drifters
MaxMini Ride To Combat On Their New Bikes
New Dungeon Delver, Darkholds On The Way From Mierce Miniatures
Raise Up MoMMiniaturas’ Trophy For Fantasy Football
Mount Up & Join Perry’s Lancers Or Ride In A Rolls Royce
The Black Spectre Turns Purple For The Carnevale Kickstarter
Hobby & Painting Town Square
News & Rumors
Historical Gamer Town Square
40K General Discussion
Sci-Fi Gamer Town Square