Q&A Time! Gnomes & Associate...
Drop Tactics: The Shaltari Leopard Sta...
Drop Tactics XLBS: All Seeing Panther ...
UK Games Expo Announces Sponsors For 2...
Bolt Action Unboxing: Sherman V...
Let’s Play – The Edge: Dawnfall...
November 28, 2011 by darrell
The lads sit down and discuss the Assassins section of the Inquisitorial section of the new Codex… are they the cheesiest part of the new book?
Personaly i really think you missed something here with the Callidus Assasin. The ability it has to appear right next to the enemy is realyl usefull. If it turns up early in the game it would mean the enemy haveing to spend some time killing it, all the while the rest of your force is getting accross the board. The Callidus assasin could be some real use against shotting armies like tau i think and be great to atleast keep units tied up. Though admitedly it is looking worse because you have to roll for it in reserve rather than it jsut turning up 1st round like Mordrak. Plus the assin would be easily squashed by a big shot. But because of that i dont really see Eversor assasins ever getting across the board to do any damage at all.
Also I’m not sure about the cover save, since the explosion is inside the cover.
Don’t worry Darrell, My Vindicare Assassin is named Oswald, you’re not alone in the inappropriate sniper jokes.
The Callidus assassin has always to me been the least appealing of the 4, to the point I’ve made a cardboard box on legs to represent one.
Eversor I’ve never been a huge fan of but thinking about it he’s Wolverine isn’t he? might make myself a yellow and blue one…
Cullexus is were your cheese comes in, combine him with a hoard of mystics henchmen and he’s firing an assault 26+ gun that gets a 2+ re-roll thanks to his psyocculum, not 100% sure if grey knights do the same for him because it says grey knights units are psykers not models, but personally I can’t see any good reason why not to do it, especially since he’s lost the soulless rule that made everything within 12″ LD7.
Can’t see any reason not to always include a Vindicare in a list for 145 points he will almost always make back his points and more. The Eversor is tempting but in a bigger game, maybe 2000 points would see me try both in a list.
Well if it ever gets FAQed and the Psycker henchman do count as a Psycker then 72 of them and 3 culexus are something you do not want to see on the battlefield.
well the psykers have a pyschic power so they sortof have to count, besides wich the spuculum doesn’t actually say “for every model with the psyker special rule” it says “for every psyker” and since they’re called psykers they are psykers as far as an animus would be concerned. Probably they don’t have the special rule because the page is cramped, its obvious and Matt ward and his editors, proof readers and anyone else involved in making rules for GW at the moment needs a slap to bring them back to this version of reality.
Another scenario with the assasins. 1 Culexus assasin with a vindicare beside him. A squad of 10xpurifiers within 12″. Nobody would go near that. Even better in cover ofc. The vindicare assasin and purifiers go long range.
If someone gets close the Culexus fires of 12+ str 5 ap 1 shots since all Grey knights is psykers. =)
Grey Knight squads only count as a single psyker (see Brotherhood of Psykers) So that plan doesnt work…I had the same idea, only to be dissappointed :/
Callidus assasin would be great for taking out Orks or IG. Polymorphine in, d6 hits, and then templete on Ld 7. Not too bad… but not great.
Vindicare is great, but seems very pricey for a single shot per turn. Same price as a Librarian… I don’t know if they will see the table much.
So, a Vindicare has a max AP of 39?? Sniper Rifle is base 3 + 4D6 with Rending? There isn’t a vehicle on the board that is safe! I’m definitely considering fielding 2, maybe even 3 of these. Since Crowe can make Purifiers troops, Draigo can make Paladins troops, and Inquisitor Corteaz can make Henchmen troops, I can still customise a list to be elite heavy. I’m liking this book.
Assassins are unique, you can only field one of each type the way i read it.
I wish the Callidus still had the ‘whisper in their ear’ ability (after deployment can re-deploy 1 enemy unit). This was great for moving that heavy weapon squad into the open or otherwise out of the way (forcing them to move to get shots). Too bad the Vindicare can’t shoot guys in CC anymore…that was fun!
Thinking of the Callidus role of being a Character Killer his Neural Shredder could be quite usefull. When Callidus arrives the target unit gets first D6 nice hits to thin it out. Then you use the Template on it and wound on Ld, BUT: 1. Wenn you wound a unit you allways use the toughness of the majority. in this case its the leadership of the majority wich should be 8, so you wound on 4+ 2. The rules say, that if the trength of a weapon doubles your toughness you are instant dead. I think it doesn’t matter if you wound on leadership, it still should use this rule.
So you give an worthy unit a lots of damage wich should kill most of them and if you get enough wounds with your shredder after that, the enemys character have to take it and gets maybe instantly killed. If not and he attacks you, than you have your instant kill sword to finish him off. If he attacks you with another unit, then you kill some of them and leave the CC with your Hit and Run and chase after him again. With your fleet its unlikely he made it far enoug from you and maybe you get another Shredder shot.
Is this rule as intendet/written or have I made a mistake?
It’s funny how Assassins have come almost full circle. In 2nd ed their stats were nigh on the same (except they had 4 wounds). In the Hunter’s dex’s they got reined in but had useful ability’s. Now their stats are better but these abilities have been nerfed out, taking away some of their character as well. The Callidus could potentially be annoying but I don’t see her surviving after she shows as she’ll just get shot and that’s an expensive distraction. If she survives then she’ll be good value for your following turn. I’m gutted they all lost Infiltrate, which would make the Eversor a lot better. I’m underwhlemed in general. An Assassin should strike fear in your opponent as soon as you pull the mini from your case, for me they don’t live up to it. I’d rather have super skills of death (like the Eversor exploding with a Strength 5/6/7 AP 2 blast hit when he dies, the Vindicare shooting into combat etc) give them 3 wounds and pay 50-70 pts more for them. The Culexus is useful against Nids but with Incinerators and Purifiers I see little point, unless you can cheese his Animus up as some of you guys have suggested although I personally wouldn’t tailor an army list so I could beef up one fragile mini’s weapon. This said I had one locked in combat with a Hive Tyrant for two turns once, trying to soul drain/kick the thing to death until he finally got sliced in half. I think the Vindicare not being able to shoot into combat is a sad loss for the game, as it was very cool & unique. As it is you want all your squads in combat as quickly as possible, so if you’re engaged across the board what use is he then? He may snipe hard but you’re opponent will still get cover saves and wounding on 4′s doesn’t cut it for me. If you’re lucky you might take out a vehicle or two, perhaps a couple of guys but that’s about it. He will give your opponent something to think about and if you have a Techmarine and put him in some high, solid cover he could get a 3+ cover save to boot. I don’t know. It comes down to playtesting and how much you want to accomodate your army/strategy to fit the Assassin in. On the positive side the Apocalypse data sheet for them is now awesome though, imagine 3 or 4 Eversor’s charging into combat going boo-loo. Yes please!
Sorry for the long posts BTW, I’ll try and be as concise as possible in the future. I just realised the Vindicare can use his special ammunition all the time! He’s awesome again, woot!
Ye know, I think with my vindicare I could use him not only as a character killer, but as a vehicle destroyer as well thanks to the turbo penetrator round.
So how does the snipe a land raider work here? I’m not here how sniping a vehicle works and that turbo penetrator round. But form the sound of it I got a nice tank hunter to use : )
You roll 4D6 + S for armor penetration…yeah… I know right?:D
you can put a calexus in the middle of your grey knoights army cause phil kelly said that each one will count as a pskyer so if placed well you could have like 20 s5 ap1 shots so i always take him
maybe im wrong in this, but i thought it said in the codex that you could only have one of each assassin in a game.
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
Warbases Crafts A Fantastic Roman Villa
Teams, Dice, Boards and More Get Released For Slaughterball
More Animal Warriors Coming Soon From Flytrap Factory
Prepare For The Butcher’s Civil War In Guild Ball
Printable Scenery Is Going On A Rampage On Indiegogo
A Wizard & Apprentice Go Adventuring With MoMMiniaturas
The Shark Warrior Emerges From The Depths For RelicBlade
Mow Down Mutants With Brother Vinni’s Veteran Chaingunner
Forge World Support The Legio Custodes With The Caladius Grav-Tank
Jedi Knight Luke Skywalker Arrives In Imperial Assault From FFG
Impudent Mortal Adds New Mat Options To Their RUST Kickstarter
Macrocosm Close In On Final Days For Dwarves At Arms Kickstarter
Totentanz Miniatures To Produce Corvus Belli’s 15mm Historical Range
New Soviet Previews Arrive For Warlord’s Konflikt ’47
Stronghold’s New Outlaws Head To Dead Man’s Hand
SSU Command Vehicle Gets Outfitted For DUST In 2017
Hobby & Painting Town Square
News & Rumors
Warhammer Fantasy General Discussion