Dropzone Commander Second Edition Anno...
Unboxing: Dark Souls – The Board...
Tactical Warfare In The Fantasy Genre:...
TheTerrainTutor Builds The Fabled Real...
Weekender XLBS: The Joys Of Board Game...
Unboxing: Warhammer 40k – Primar...
October 17, 2012 by darrell
Video Sponsors: Battle Foam – Warmachine
Darrell shows you a painful, but effective way to deal with that ferocious Wall of Death.
My basic plan goes 1 – charge with 5 termagants, 2 – charge with actual dangerous squad.
Note that for this to work the independent character would have had to move outside of 2″ away from the unit during the preceding movement phase. Otherwise, he could not have independently assaulted the Ork unit.
Furthermore, the independent character could not rejoin the unit until the Blood Angel’s next movement phase.
Can some one share with a new player some tips/memory queues in order to make sure all things are considered in battle? such as FNP or Daemon invuln or deepstrike blinding etc etc. I find myself so caught up in simple number crunching the ‘to hit’ and ‘to wound’ that I get panicked to get it over with for some reason! I’m sure I’m not alone but can some of you share your thoughts on how you eventually dealt with all of the stats and special rules and timing?
as you get more games under your belt you’ll start to remember things naturally. If it helps start playing games with just the basic rules then later on add in special rules to help ease yourself into it.
In my club we make a point of helping out the new guys with remembering all the rules. Then like Bloodhunter says you get up to speed fairly quickly the more games you play.
You can also come into the 40k forums and ask us questions. There’s a lot going on there!
Question, in the rules you declare a charge, resolve overwatch(if desired), charge, then move onto next unit and repeat. After all charges are declaired you then fight the combat rounds. My question is at what point are you “engaged” in CC, as you do not actually fight cc untill after all charges are declaired and finished. to me, this means that i can choose to shoot at anybody charging me as they are all charging in effect at the same time?
You’re locked in CC when there is an enemy model in B2B contact with you. Pg 23 “Who can fight?”
Charging is very mush a sequential thing, a bit of a blurry timeline for sure but events of previous charges affect events of subsequent charges.
“P23, who can fight” that is in the fight close combat sub phase, which is after all charges are declared and resolved. I can see nothing in the FAQ either about whether charges are all at the same time, but i would asume so, as this is the case for shooting attacks. and also because the CC is all resolved together too
The reference to Page 23 : “Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat.” ergo once you have an enemy mini in base contact you are locked in combat.
Page 22 “DECLARE NEXT CHARGE Once all the models in a charging unit have moved, the player can choose another unit and declare another charge if he wishes.”
See – quent – ee – al
You make a couple references in this video to taking advantage of ‘precise shots’ during ‘snap fire’. Is this a mistake? My read of the rules is that snap shots can never result in precise shots, and further, since ‘sniper’ weapons give ‘precise shots’ rule, sniper rifles don’t allow precise shots during snap fire. Am I wrong?
You are correct. Snap fire shots can never be precision shots (see pg. 63, 2nd para under “Precision Shots”.
Waaaargh! This is great for Orks. A typical mob of 30 boyz foot slogging across the board, with an innocuous 40 point unit of 10 gretchin running up beside them. The boyz finally reach their target and are about to charge when with a mighty yelp the gretchin spring forward and hit the wall of death first. The runt herd might even survive the snap shot carnage to shout “I challenge you Marneus Calgar, you dog!!”
ONE HUGE PROBLEM WITH THIS! you have to declare all your charges before the opponant decides whose getting over watched. then after he decides and actually preforms the over watch THEN you roll for everyone’s charge range. so this actually wont work. AT ALL! clever though wasted.
@bloodspartan, each charge is declared and resolved including overwatch before the next charge is declared so it will work and does work.
Of course in the case of burnaboys, its simple, you don’t shoot all flamers and use the rest as power weapons, hoping they live to fight.
I personally can see burnas being more effective delibrately mingled into another unit making it hard for the opponant to charge without making a multiple assault, of course template weapons will make a mess of that idea.
Click here to cancel reply.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
Battleboards Show Off Some Fantastic Orc Goodness
Puppets War’s Mech Gets A Few Upgrades
Nicol Bolas Is Back In The Hour Of Devastation For MTG
Go Diving In Antenociti’s Workshop’s Dumpsters & More
39 Projects This Week
41 Projects Last Week
48 Projects Two Weeks Ago
A Death Eater Dons Their Mask At Knight Models
Hyacinth Games Has A New Face Coming To The Wreck-Age Drifters
MaxMini Ride To Combat On Their New Bikes
Raise Up MoMMiniaturas’ Trophy For Fantasy Football
Space Marine Codex + New Reiver, Aggressor & Redemptor Kits On Pre-Order
Mount Up & Join Perry’s Lancers Or Ride In A Rolls Royce
The Black Spectre Turns Purple For The Carnevale Kickstarter
Raise A Bottle To Kromlech’s Latest Releases
New Dungeon Delver, Darkholds On The Way From Mierce Miniatures
ThunderChild Fill The Waste With More Mutated Monsters
Support Your Dwarves With Forge World Iron Hill Crossbows
Hunker Down Behind Tabletop Art’s Sandbags & Barricades
Pulp Punk Horror & Weird Gamer Town Square
Hobby & Painting Town Square
News & Rumors
40K General Discussion
Historical Gamer Town Square
Backstage – Green Room