Weekender XLBS: The Joys Of Board Game...
Unboxing: Warhammer 40k – Primar...
Weekender: New Space Marine Codex ...
Community Spotlight: Dark Age Romans, ...
Unboxing: Hordes Grymkin – The Wicke...
Infinity Beyond Red Veil: Yu Jing Vs H...
September 28, 2011 by warzan
Warren And Darrell sit down to chat about the fast attack choices for the new Grey Knights.
Warren….if your keen on Melta’s look no further. Take Inquisitor Coteaz, he kindly provide you with henchmen as troop choices. Not only that, he will personally ensure you can take as many as you want with no limit! Nowall you have to do is spend 600 points on Inquisitorial Servitors, split them into groups of three and take three multi melta’s for free with each group. Let’s see, is that 20 troops all with multi melta’s? Throw a Jokaero Weaponsmith in each of them at 35 points each for 700 points and watch your opponent have a really bad day!! You still have 350 points to spend after paying Coteaz to spend on other choices.
Good video, thanks. Can’t wait to see what you guys make of KARAMAZOV!!
I see two problems with your summoning.plans. 1. It’s used at the start of the movement phase (so, must be used before deepstriking) 2. Can only be used on non-vehicle units that is not engaged in combat…. so no teleporting stormravens.
I do not think it must be used before deepstrike since DS is also at the start of the movement phase. And in 40k, when two things are at the same time, they can be swaped as which goes first, and which goes second. At least that is my interpretation of the rule. And vehicles can be summoned as long as they have the warp stabs.
On point 2 I stand corrected…
However The actual move in deepstrike is not at the beginning of the movementphase. First you roll to see if they are available, then you have to move them before moving any other units. So I would say that this psychic power could only be used before the librarian moves and thus this is before entering the board.
In the deepstrike rule it states: “this units can not move this turn ( so they are on the board at the time to do so) only can disembark from a vehicle that has DS.”
since the only real condition in the psichic power is that your mini has to be on the board ( does not need line of sight or anything) and your mini is on the board you can perfectly summon a unit. And your mini has to be there cos’ the unit summoned apears D6 away from it XD.
if you are coming in from your table edge it is a whole other story since you are out of the board until you move.
note something here also: Inquisitor Coteaz ( Rule: i’ve been expecting you) could only shoot a Drop pod, and not it’s content since it shoots inmediately as the unit arrives, allthought he can shoot infinite times, he can’t shot the guys inside the vehicle since in the moment of arrival they are still inside!!!!!!
Here’s the thing, the way the ability is worded, you can summon after deepstriking in.
Communion “Used at the beginning of your movement phase” so it happens before deepstriking
Summoning “Used at the beginning of the Librarians movement” so technically, this happens after deepstriking, on the actual units normal time to move. He can’t move, since he deepstruck, but he still has the chance to cast summoning.
So how does this sound: put the librarian in reserve, and upgrade a grand master to mastery level 2. On turn two, use communion from the gm twice to give the librarian a chance to come in on a 2+. Then deepstrike him in, and start summoning stuff to him. Give him a teleport homer and now the summoning units dont even have to worry about scatter
Or just join Mordrak and his buddies in DR and just land 25 terminators beside the enemy.
But that will work once, and that is the end of that 8surprise factor).
the 2nd game you play will be like: Oh yeah, mordrak + biblio? I’m gonna keep everything in reserve
Loved the long video for this guys. Explaining units in depth is alot better than say only a 5 min overview of them.
Keep it up.
Psilencers only wound demons on 4+. Otherwise, nice.
ps: Wardingstaves are power weapons too… . Please a little more accurate rule quoting
That shunt move has some interesting applications if you give them the scouts rule from the Grand Master. Or give scouts to Dreadknights…
Also, I don’t think you can shunt and assault, so that won’t work. But you can shunt and shoot them in the back with a Psycannon.
If they use the shunt as their scout move, that happens before the game starts, so on turn one, they could move and assault as normal. Otherwise, no, they couldn’t shunt and assault.
I’m also pretty sure you can’t assault out of the Storm Raven after it deepstrikes in via the summoning, but nice try Warren lol
Love this vid… great info and Warren has had waaaay too much coffee hehe Love you guys!
That was warren having to much coffee… thought he was on crystal meth or crack
DO NOT take psybolt ammuntion on the SR. Makes the hurricane bolters not defensive!
Aye, but tool it up with heavy bolters and assualt cannons then you can spend your time moving it 6″ and shooting everything. Its made even better if you can put a cheap scoring unit inside so it can claim objectives.
is it valid to shunt in the scout move?
Not the way it is read, but people can argue otherwise.
The Scout move says normal move. The BRB lists out the normal movement options for each type of unit. The one-time shunt is not anything close to being listed, as Deep Strikes and teleporting is not considered normal movement.
Warren and Darrell can you guys please make up some battle reports so we can see how these tactic work out during a game.
Scale matters? Ever tried getting 10 Marines into a Rhino? But yeah, i get what you mean.
Can’t assault out of a deepstriking stormraven, sorry Warren.
Also where in the summoning power does it say that the unit does not scatter, it says that they deploy via deepstrike so technically that includes placing the first model where you want and still rolling for scatter as that is part of DS deployment. Rules as written for arriving from reserve say that the roll is made at the start of the movement phase, so that would negate the use of ‘the summoning’ at the start of the movement phase. I don’t think you can deepstrike then summon stuff too until the next turn.
If you put the Grey night interceptors in a Storm Raven and use the shadow skies rule they don’t scatter….
and remember that if you use hammerhand your daemon hammers make you S10
Oh good old Monty python
Hopefully you guys will post list on screen, I think the storm raven termie combo is a winner. My oldest is prepping for a Grey knight build now – how could you get all of that into a 1750 pt list and not short yourself??? – in the effectiveness category
I don’t know if you already covered it but Servo-skulls reduce the number of dices for scatter-rolls and such thinks (templates AND deep strike scatter) so you could put 2 Servo-skulls besides each other and you wouldn’t scatter anymore
Psilencer only wounds daemons on a 4+ unless the roll to wound would be better than a 4+. Has no AP value either so it’s only real saving grace is the fact it gets 6 or 12 shots depending on what type you are using.
Psycannon can be used as an assualt weapon also. Can be assualt 2 or heavy 4 rending.
With regards to the warding stave It’s still a nemesis force weapon so it is still a power weapon and has all the extra fluffy bits such as the instant kill rules and daemonbane. You only get a 2+ invulnerable save in close combat mind.
As far as I know you still count as having a Nemesis Force Weapon when you take a Nemesis Warding Stave. You just don’t get any of the other bonuses like +1 attack or +2 Initiative. Correct me if I’m wrong…
Nope, you are absolutely correct.
Anything that is listed as “Nemesis Force X” is a power/force weapon with daemonbane, p.54. While the Stave is defensive in purpose, giving a 2++ in CC, it is still a potent weapon.
The only limitations on the NF Staff is are points and the 1 per squad rule.
Yup so the stave would actually be pretty nice in the hands of a purifier knight of the flame. Or any other purifier. Personally i’d like my purifiers and termies/paladins to have the halberds and the interceptors to have falchions ^^
If you give hurricane bolters psybolt ammo then they are no longer defensive weapons so you can’t shoot them all if you move over 6′. The stave is still a good weapon and interestingly enough if you have it then you get the 2++ for perils if you’re in CC. Not a bad option for a unit leader or libby.
Click here to cancel reply.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
Space Marine Codex + New Reiver, Aggressor & Redemptor Kits On Pre-Order
Support Your Dwarves With Forge World Iron Hill Crossbows
Hunker Down Behind Tabletop Art’s Sandbags & Barricades
The Aeronef Range By Brigade Models Expands With New Ships
35 Projects This Week
41 Projects Last Week
48 Projects Two Weeks Ago
New Dungeon Delver, Darkholds On The Way From Mierce Miniatures
Alien Fans; Get Your Own M577 APC From Prodos Games
Warlord & Sarissa Put Together New Gates Of Antares Ghar Terrain
Victoria Miniatures Mount Up In Boss & Fury Matilda Tanks
Fate Of Konor, Games Workshop’s Global 40K Campaign Kicks Off July 27th
Check Out RN eStudio’s Reaper Fantasy Football Team
Take A Look At What’s Coming For Malifaux In August
Spellcrow Mutate Your Vehicles With New Doors And Plates
Dropzone Commander 2nd Edition News Coming Monday!
Set The Stage For WWII With Cold War Urban Terrain On Kickstarter
Detritus Floats Into The Carnevale Kickstarter
Puppets War Roll Out Game Counters For All Occasions
Hobby & Painting Town Square
News & Rumors
40K General Discussion