Unboxing: Warhammer 40k – Primar...
Weekender: New Space Marine Codex ...
Community Spotlight: Dark Age Romans, ...
Unboxing: Hordes Grymkin – The Wicke...
Infinity Beyond Red Veil: Yu Jing Vs H...
Infinity Beyond Ice Storm: Nomads Vs P...
January 19, 2012 by dignity
The guys move on to the HQ choices from the Grey Knights section of the Codex and discuss some of their favourite entries.
Why is there a flourish in the audio at 3:48?
Anyway, the champion rents out his body then after he’s done his last act is to give one last blow? Suddenly Blood Angels Gold Nipple Armour doesn’t seem quite so fruity…
Oh another thing Thunder Hammers say to use the powerfist rules which are “always delivered at initiative 1(ignore inititive bonuses from special rules, wargear, etc.)” Etc.. would cover psychic powers, sorry Warren.
Yup my dream of cheesy thunder hammers is over
Hammers used by the Dreadknights go on there normall Inititive rating. Just a heads up for Thunder Hammers
Why would you take a Daemon Hammer on a Dreadknight when you can take a Greatsword at 25 points which gives you re-rolls to hit and wound in close combat?
Granted, the Daemon Hammer is great when it goes at inititive 4 (average time), but when your instant killing everything except for eternal warrior and hitting 4 times and they can barley scratch you with your 2+ armour save.
My Dreadknight structure is: - Heavy Incinerator - Nemesis Greatsword - Personal Teleporter
A Dreaknight which can jump 30 inches once and have a basic movement of 12 and amazing in combat is just completely unbelievable!
Love the sentinel falling over at 9:19! Why???
Thats a bit of a long story
There have been a number of strange things happening in the studio over the last couple of years, but things have been getting worse recently and stuff has started to erm … move even during the videos.
We try to ignore it but its becoming a pain in the arse.
We have some out takes where strange stuff is happening – normally we restart but in this case we were to far through the video so we just had to keep going.
So your studio is haunted?
they must be very tidy phantoms as as 24:46, the sentinel is down. but by 26:46 it’s mysteriously corrected it’s self!
at least the spooks feel bad about messing up your gaming table.
As I don’t have a codex yet: What do Servo-skulls do?
Servo skulls are deployed after you set deployment zones before any other units anywhere but your opponents deployment zone, enemy infiltrators can’t set up within 12″ of them and you roll one D6 less for scatter on your blast weapons and deep strikes that are targeted within 12″ of them, but as soon as an enemy gets within 6″ of them they self destruct.
why not use as many servos skulls as possible so when your libby comes in he can land pretty much anywhere? also does the servo skull ability stack? for example your libby coming in near 1 servo skull scatter 1D6″ so if he comes in range of 2 servo skulls he wont scatter.
I don’t think the bonus would stack and I expect the answer in the FAQ will be that two close enough together is like having more than one Astropath/Officer of the fleet in that they don’t stack but you have a backup if one dies, thought thats mitigated by the fact you only have to get within 6″ and the servo skull leaves or self destructs, if they’re close enough to overlap the 12″ range they’re close enough one unit can get within 6″ of both in one move. You get up to 3 servo skulls from each Techmarine, so on the standard charts the most you can have is 9 and for that you give up assassins and you need a Draigo/Crowe tag team to run paladins and purifiers out of troop slots.
Oh good god, I am using that Vortex of Doom power. I am going to take a BBones liby keep him in cover till I get a chance to get close to my opponents HQ squad and then I am going to get him in close as close as I can and pop off that power. Either it lands on them and nukes that enemy squad or it lands on me and nukes that squad regardless. Go stupidly risky depend on or go home is what I say.
didnt you think he could technically take out big things like carnifex’s, swarmlords, Daemon princes, (defilers and dreadnoughts?) avatars, Nightbringer ect?
Suddenly that 100 point model seems alot more useful. the unit gets to re-roll ro hit, so even charging into normal marines, he is pretty decent as a support. and if they charge into a big thing (as stated above) the unit will wither kill it first charge, OR he will die taking it down with him.
xD the sound when Warren says the character does not attack.
I know it’s late but I have some info about the Libby. You aren’t limited to choosing just 2 or 3 powers, you are only limited to using 2 or 3 powers per turn. This means you can choose all of the powers if you so desired. (No idea why you would though)
The Shrouding is a power I used to good effect in my last game. I was against IG and I lost the role for first turn and didn’t manage to seize the initiative so I had one turn where my opponent could get some shots off. I set up in cover behind a ruin, including my vehicles (only a 1500pt game), all within range of the Libby and everything had a 3+ cover save against lascannons and other nasty leman russ weaponry because of that psychic power. Now imagine I had a techmarine as well and he bolstered the ruin, I would then have a 2+ cover save. Another use would be having the Libby in a LR and it pops smoke and then you use the Shrouding power to increase the smokes cover save from 4+ to 3+….slightly cheesy? yes but it works and it’s legit.
hz funny u know nothing about grey knoghtd
Darryl, in the Logan Vs Champion – Heroic Sacrifice scenario. The way I have read the rule is that if the Captain passes the Psychic test and successfully hits, the Champion automatically kills Logan. The rule says “…both models are removed are removed as casualties with no saves of any kind allowed”. So, no armour save, no Invunerable saves, nothing. (I’m not clued up on Space Wolves so not sure what the Rune-Priest can do, but the way the rule is written, if the Champion hits after the Test, Logan goes “bye-bye”).
Just noticed that the Champion’s blade is a force weapon, so this does increase his chance’s of killing characters, D3+1 attacks plus the last chance stike, will most likely kill the 275pt Abbadon type models.
With the new rules and chaos out, the champion might make a good model to send after lucius cause his armour is the only thing helping him really. I had a game against him and lileth hesperax of the dark eldar and lucius killed her with his armours attacks back and I failed the 1 wound I had left on her he got 2 wounds. If you used a champion his job is to kil characters and chaos HQs and sargent profile characters must challenge and accept challenges. If lucius does kill the champion in any way the champion can still try to take him out in his heroic sacrifice and kill lucius because lucius cant save it and “eternal warrior” does not apply because its not an “instant death” attack he just dies outright.
Click here to cancel reply.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
Space Marine Codex + New Reiver, Aggressor & Redemptor Kits On Pre-Order
Support Your Dwarves With Forge World Iron Hill Crossbows
Hunker Down Behind Tabletop Art’s Sandbags & Barricades
The Aeronef Range By Brigade Models Expands With New Ships
33 Projects This Week
41 Projects Last Week
48 Projects Two Weeks Ago
New Dungeon Delver, Darkholds On The Way From Mierce Miniatures
Alien Fans; Get Your Own M577 APC From Prodos Games
Warlord & Sarissa Put Together New Gates Of Antares Ghar Terrain
Victoria Miniatures Mount Up In Boss & Fury Matilda Tanks
Fate Of Konor, Games Workshop’s Global 40K Campaign Kicks Off July 27th
Check Out RN eStudio’s Reaper Fantasy Football Team
Take A Look At What’s Coming For Malifaux In August
Spellcrow Mutate Your Vehicles With New Doors And Plates
Dropzone Commander 2nd Edition News Coming Monday!
Set The Stage For WWII With Cold War Urban Terrain On Kickstarter
Detritus Floats Into The Carnevale Kickstarter
Puppets War Roll Out Game Counters For All Occasions
Hobby & Painting Town Square
News & Rumors
40K General Discussion