Let’s Play: Holmes With David Esbri...
Let’s play: Checkpoint Charlie With ...
Hobby Night Live: Planning & Buil...
Community Spotlight: A Fiery Dropzone ...
Wild West Exodus: BETA Edition & ...
Let’s Play: Wild West Exodus ...
December 6, 2010 by dignity
Today Darrell looks at Mephiston from the Blood Angels and how you can get him in a transport.
Great video Darrell. Mephiston is one man army, but he is the #1 target for all shooting. Another idea would be to try and run him behind the rhino for cover.
One point though, I don’t think Sanguinary Priests can join him because he is always a unit of one and ICs can’t join a unit that always consists of a single model.
Simpler way to get him across the board… Escort of assault marines. Stick him behind a 10 man squad with a sanguinary priest in there too and he’ll usually make it into combat. An advantage of this is that if the assault squad gets tied up in combat, you can assault mephiston into them on your next turn and quickly turn the tide. If mephiston is positioned well, he’ll be taking a cover save from his escort unit, and you can survive more of what gets through with feel no pain.
the new FAQ. page 5. 2nd question from the top.
Why are you posting this? He said you could embark him in a Stormraven.
Mephiston is a unit of his own, just like any other space marine unit except independent characters. He is also not monstrous creature, so normal marines between mephiston and who ever is shooting at him gives him a 4+ cover save. Since he has toughness 6, he can also have Feel No Pain from battle cannons and other weapons with strength 9 or less with armour piercing 3 or worse. You could also group up a bunch of independent characters like sanguinary priests, Dante, chaplains, librarians and captains to form a massive killer unit. However, it won’t be very point-wise, but any number of independent characters can join him.
He can’t join ICs. See my post above. Pg. 48 in the Main RB.
Every time Darrell screws up a simple ruling like this I die a little inside lol. Surely you guys at BoW could have someone double check what he’s about to say, otherwise it looks kinda bad, especially as garwjenk pointed out it’s right there on pg 48 that characters can’t join Mephiston.
Yeah this one was quite simple…I think Darrell would be better doing actual tactic vids, like just talking about different armies and doing some clever tactics for them, or good army lists.
Page 48. ” Independent characters are allowed to join other units. They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons and units that always consist of a single model (like most vehicles and monstrous creatures). They can join other independent characters though, to form a powerful multi-character unit!”
That last sentence seems to be where Darrel is coming from. I haven’t read the Blood Angels codex so I am not sure about Mephiston’s rules but it seems like he can be joined by other independent characters.
Mephiston is not an Independent Character though, which is what we’ve been saying, hence he can never be joined by an IC as he is by definition a unit that always consists of a single model and as that paragraph you quoted points out IC’s cannot join them.
Thanks for answering my question. It was really helpful. I am new to the game and had difficulty working out the designated transport rules.
So this is kinda off the topic of the video, but when Mephiston charges the nightbringer, like he did in this video, doesn’t the nightbringer have the option to push units its in CC away before blows are struck with one of its special ability or was there a faq that got rid of that?
Great Video btw
It still has the power, but it only works on enemies with less than str 4
@ bigbri oh okay, thanks for the answer.
The words that undoubtfully made me misunderstand just like Darrell here was probably: “(like most vehicles and monstrous creatures).” If you read this too fast or without enough focus, you’d be led to believe that the rule would only include vehicles and monstrous creatures, which Mephiston is not. How ever, those were only examples of such units. So I’m sorry I made such a stupid mistake, being a Blood Angels player and having played for more than a decade.
Click here to cancel reply.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
New 40mm Vikings Go Raiding From V&V Miniatures
Michael Pisarski Takes The Golden Demon With Nagash
More New Faces For The West On The Way From Knuckleduster
Cubicle 7 Announces Age Of Sigmar Role-Playing Game!
Tabletop World Shows Off A Lovely Cottage & Stone Bridge
Get A Look At The Core Rules & Primaris Stats For Warhammer 40,000
Grab A Bolt Action Airborne Starter Army From Warlord Games
Face Off Against Bane In Monolith’s Batman Board Game
Boris Woloszyn Sculpts Up A Mighty HeroQuest Diorama
Macrocosm’s Cut’u Pirate Miniatures Arrrrrr On Kickstarter
Devil Pig Games Announce New 40K Board Game, Heroes Of Black Reach
Wood Axe Summon The Dwarven Throng With New Hornblower
Exclusive Look At New Modiphius Star Trek Adventures RPG Miniatures!
Hysterical’s Orc Warlord Churg-ill Sticks It To The Enemy
What Fantasty Terrain Escenorama Has Been Tinkering Away On?
Battle On Scenic Prospero Alongside Amon With Forge World
Laser Cutting Operative Evening Shift [4Ground]
40K General Discussion
Sci-Fi Gamer Town Square
Historical Gamer Town Square
Hobby & Painting Town Square