Relic Knights Week: Exploring The Worl...
Weekender XLBS: FoW Boot Camp Tickets ...
Weekender: Relic Knights Week Cometh &...
Community Spotlight: Star Wars, Scared...
Warmachine Unboxing: Cryx Battlegroup ...
3 Colours Up: Painting Warmachine Embl...
November 9, 2011 by darrell
Video Sponsors: Heavy gear – Dark Age
The guys have a look at Trazyn the Infinite… the Necron Overlord with the best collection of stuff… EVER!
No, no, guys, he’s a Bloody Magpie, Dr. Doom. He steals ANYTHING that he see’s is shiny, and has Dr. Doom bots, that are him when he dies! It’s why I love the fluff for this guy.
Also, scatter die! For the Dr. Doom rule, use the Scatter die, and whatever model is closest to the tip of the line, there you go, random! I love that scatter die!
Trazyn on a command barge would be awesome. Since the sweep attack rule states that any strength bonus and special abilitys from the close combat weapon apply. Also he can capture objectives lol.
Although, the special rule itself says that the hit one of every similar model in the unit only works if he’s in combat. So you aren’t gonna be sweeping over squads of boys and taking them out in a command barge. That would be awesome, but not RAW.
I disagree since sweep attacks apply the special abilitys from the weapon. The special ability from the weapon is to hit every same named model. So thats how I read this until its officailly FAQ’d.
You can disagree, and the Command Barge does say that you can use special abilities, but Trazyn’s ability also explicitly states “If Trazyn kills one or more enemies in close combat, the Emphatic Obliterator unleashes a psionic shockwave. This occurs after all blows have been struck, but before Assault Results are determined.”
It’s right there, says that it activates in combat. When a sweep is done, there is no combat, thus you can’t use this special ability. Sorry.
Well that’s a blow – why put him in a Command Barge then? *Sigh* yet another one for the FAQ to make explicit for numpties like me
I agree with what you are saying but as I see it the sweep attack does count as close combat, otherwise 80pts is overpriced for a 1 man transport. I think the Empathic Obliterator was written without considering this as opposed to being in total oppositon to it.
He’s probably the best thing for tourneys in the codex if you can use him right, he’s a hoard stomper pure and simple, and I think it doesn’t matter if he can join the scarabs, as long as he’s in their combat he’ll get to use his empathic do-dah on everything the same in that combat, but its hard to be sure without the rules for it in black and white in front of me.
As for any unit he’s with being able to claim objectives well it doesn’t matter much, if he’s with them they claim the objective, but what only having him scoring means is you can’t string 20 flayed ones between two objectives with him in the middle and claim both.
Lastly I think that fluff bit has been misinterpreted, he’s not sending Valeria an E-mail thanking her for a present, he’s taunting her it might say “Thank you dear lady for the 5 regiments of Catachans.”, but what it I think it means is “Oh what you thought that was enough? Try again little girl.”
I like the sound of this guy
The model sucks though…damn finecast. full of airholes and the staff was knackerd. Jeez..
Most Cheesy unit in the Necron codex. 5 Lords with Warscythes, 2+ weave and mindshackle scarabs.
Name 1 low model deathstar unit that could kill this in assault. The only chance to win would be to pass the Ld on 3D6, else they’d hit their own units.
What if you throw this 5 man unit against Mephiston or the Swarmlord, do they have to pass 5 3D6 Ld rolls to be able to attack back? I’d say this is the best Cheese Combo in the dex.
Trazyn itself is nice HQ choice. Too bad that only model that we have from him is Finecast one.
Trazyn is pretty good. If you get him on a Command Barge he’s like a kamikaze troop/horde striker as he’ll probably return later once he’s blown up. I quite like him.
“The Greeks couldn’t afford the postage…” Classic Darrell
I don’t know about the names of the lords. I’m surprised there isn’t a “Metatarsal, the Broken”
Defenetly a command barge, considereing his I2. Multi-Charge genestealers with that stat means lots of attacks that can kill him before he does any damage. So a command barge might prevent that and gets Tarzan right where he’s needed. If I’d start Necrons, this guy will prob in it (at least in friendly gmaes).
what I like about all these characters is that they make playing all different styles of armies with Necrons possible. With Trazyn you could use him in an elite close combat list with lots of lychguard. And I wouldn’t have to worry about being overwhelmed by a horde. He covers one of their vulnerabilities.
yep, not to mention the options for crypteks, they put so much trickery and personalisation into the lists. Some of the combos for characters in this book are brilliant
You could run him into mephiston and make him hit himself and force weapon himself to death! oh yeah hello can of woopas. please read please read
How would the surrogates rule work with weapons or abilities that just remove him from play?
I believe most weapons or abilities that do that state “remove from play as a casualty” or something to that effect. So it would still trigger Surrogate Hosts.
That is scary. Thanks.
Ok.. I have some cheese here.. tell me what you think guys.. Warren.. Darrel.. let me know if you think you could get away with this.
Put “Tarzan” in a Catacomb Command barge. Now the rules for Tarzans weapons states when he kills and enemy in close combate with his weapon roll your D6 for every model of the same type.. fine.. no probes.. But.. and here is the possably cheese… IF you use the comand barges special ability of “Sweep Attack” would that also work. And the reason I think it might.. is sure its not tecnically close combat… but you ARE hitting with his close combat weapon… and MOST importantly it clearly states under sweeping attatc that “…the unit suffers a hit at the characters strenth, PLUS any strength bonous AND special abilities from his close combat weapon.”
So I say fly this bad boy over a huge squade.. or anything you want to hit.. roll your 3 hits hope to get one death.. then pow.. start rolling for EVERY other moddel in the squad.
What you think guys
We were discussing this up above. I think this can’t work because the Obliterator only works if you are in close combat, so in the assault phase. It’s been thought up before, and debunked plenty of times. Sorry :<
Yeah I posted this yesterday….. and it hasnt been debunked, its still being debated.
This guy is going to be fun paired with a Doom Scythe or two. Total genocide on the table top.
Skeletor or Tarzan the Infinite? http://images.wikia.com/heman/images/b/bc/Skeletor.jpg
Its true that it isnt a sweeping attack isnt tecnically close combat.. but i tihnk the line that says it usues all the weapons close combat special rules EFFECTIVE makes it close combat. You are HITTING with a close combat weapon using ALL its special abilites!!! I say this works.. and thats wha im doing untill the FAQ it say you cant!!
Yes it’s not close combat.. but its uses its specuial rules. If its a power weapon.. itas still a power weapon.. itf it has rending.. same for that.. if when you WOUND someone then every model of that ype rolls a d6 to see if its wounded also.. yes
I agree! I mean from a fluff point of view why would he design a weapon that killed all lesser races that got in his way with minimum effort and then simply because he wasnt getting his face bashed in it didnt work… The command barge is perfect for Trazyn from a fluf point of view too.
I wonder by the end of Necron week just how many rules do we all reckon will require an FAQ? surely itcant be that hard to clearlt write rules. Mr Ward clarly can write cheese plain enough.
It would be interesting to know whether he has to remain alive before giving that hit on every identical unit. That would negate its effectiveness (and would probably be much more reasonable)… because his likelihood of surviving against 30 ork boys is very small on his own.
Since it happens at the end of the combat, you could make an argument that if he is dead by then, then he can’t kill anyone else,
I wonder if he kills something in close combat, then is later killed (at I1) and by the host rule is then returned (randomly) to play replacing a model not involved in that same close combat, would the Emphatic Obliterator still go off as he is no longer engaged in that close combat?
i agree with the special rule being useable on command barge,, it does say all special rules and it should technically count as close combat, as its trazyns weapon coming into contact with the enemy and not the vehicles weapon for the sweeping attack. CHEEESE!!! >_<
you all seem to like the command barge but culd you all look at surrogate hosts with reanimation protocols so is it posobol to posibly get 2 trazyns ???
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
Home Raiders Return As TTCombat Bring Back The Starter Box
The House Hollister First Sons Are Looking Flash From Onslaught
Exclusive Bombshell Mini For Geek Nation Adepticon Attendees
Paranoid Miniatures Ushers In The New Year With Mythos Updates
Tzeentch’s Minions Grow In Number With Age Of Sigmar Preview!
Loads Of Malifaux & More At Adepticon This Year
Have A Whale Of A Time With AntiMatter’s Deep Sea Scenery
Atlantis Miniatures Look Ahead To February Dwarven Kickstarter
The Disciples Of Tzeentch Begin Weaving Spells In Age Of Sigmar
The Gundabad Ogres Do Battle Thanks To Forge World
The Legion Welcomes New Models For Privateer’s Hordes
Catch The Train At Sarissa’s New Railway Station
Napoleonic Plastic British Cavalry Ride Out Soon From Warlord
Konflikt ’47 Welcomes Soviet, German & British Weird World War Units
Steamforged’s Dark Souls Core Rules Now Available For Download
Fancy New Blackwater Gulch Artwork Pops Up From Gangfight Games
Historical Gamer Town Square
Hobby & Painting Town Square
Backstage – Green Room
Sci-Fi Gamer Town Square
News & Rumors
Infinity General Discussion
40K General Discussion