Infinity’s Ace February Releases...
Let’s Play: Shadow Games with St...
Wrath Of Kings Week Coming Next Monday...
40K Charted: History Lesson – Th...
Weekender XLBS: Paint Storage, Putty &...
Weekender: Steamforged Talk Shadow Gam...
January 19, 2011 by dignity
Darrell moves on to the Sternguard Veterans and their vengeance rounds, telling us how they work with the “gets hot rule” and wound allocation.
After quick peep at the BRB and the Q+A’s this isn’t covered at all.
But rolling for each individual model is what I have been doing with my IG veterans with plasma
Also Pedro doesn’t make Sternguard Troops, he makes them scoring while still being a Elite unit.
He makes them count after he dies, but its still cool though
i dont think you can do this, wounds are taken against the unit as a whole and then you can only allocate if they have different war gear, in my opinion the 2+ poison shells are much better forcing more saves without the risk, especially considering how easy it is to get a 4+ cover save
Yes, but gets hot only wounds the guy who fired it. Other wise a squad with only one “gets hot” weapon could off put his wound onto a unit with lesser value when wounds are allocated to the squad as a whole.
hey guys i got two questions, mate of mine plays some variation of Dark Angels n he got himself a LR Crusader which he has bolted on a set of B-17 wings from somewhere and calls it a Stormraven since to him it has near enough the same weapon loadout (hurricane bolters, Melta, Assault cannons) and size, to which he adds a mortis dread with 2 twin linked autocannons and a devastator squad with 4 heavy bolters. He uses this like a big mobile shooty fortress to tackle my orks at a distance, i would like to know if hes allowed to use the stormraven since i thought it was for BA only?and second any suggestions how to bring his pride and joy crashing down onto the tabletop? thanks guys
Dark Angels do not get a stormraven in their codex (yet). Technically picking that choice is illegal in a standard game. However, the golden rule applies. If you allow it, its fine.
Orks arent my speciality so I am not surewhat big guns you can field to bring it down. Avoid using melta though as you don’t get the extra d6.
yeah man i see ur point i dont mind it in use even if it can shoot like heck but yeah i’m goin to have a look around forgeworld see if thers anythin over ther ive heard about an ork AA gun somewhere thanks mate
would be a bit to good sterguard vetrans as troops, but I wouldn’t mind ^^
Darrel, Thanks for answering my question.
Surely, this is worked out as normal? One wound gets allocated toe ach model until all models have one wound, then any leftover start getting the extra wounds… Ultimately, you roll their shots and take that many armour saves. Any that fail, causes a wound.
That’s what I’d have thought, anyway. You can do each one individually, but that makes it take longer, unnecessarily.
I’d be happy to let my opponent do it either way, but would do it my way – if they complained, I’d point out that it takes longer to do it individually and, if anything, gives them an advantage.
No it’s not, if you read the rules for Gets Hot! weapons it says the firing model takes a wound, so you must have some way to show each guys shots, whether it’s rolling them individually or using different coloured dice.
The point is: it doesn’t actually matter which model exaclty suffered how many wounds, because after wounds have been allocated, whether somehow automatically or by the controlling player, you have to pool all dice for models which are identical in game terms and roll the saves for them together! So if you would get 5 times a get’s hot result, you would have to make 5 saves in a batch and afterwards you have to chose the suffered causalities.
p.s.: If you fail more then one of these saves, you must nominate always as many causalities.
To cut it short: IMO Darrell is wrong, that you could be lucky with one model soaking up several get’s hot results. But this and similar situations have been discussed over and over again and both playstyles/interpretations are more or less common.
so kantor can take sternguard as troops choices? might be worth investing in him for an upcoming tournament at my local club.
No he can’t. He makes them scoring units LIKE troops but there still elites
Yep, that makes sense. Havent come across that issue yet, but Im glad Ive seen this.
Think Ill take force dome and stick my librarian with them in the tournament on saturday!
Pedro always goes with the terminators for me. Just the fist and storm bolter do it for me. I have him on a terminator base too for modelling reasons so it looks nice. Especially stomping out of a land raider!
As a second thought tho, for pursuing reasons and suchlike, it might be better to stick the terminator librarian with the terminators and stick kantor with the sternguard, but then they wont get the invulnerable save. hmmm
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
Stunning Fantasy Minis From 3Dartdigital On The Way To Kickstarter
Privateer Press Announces UK Nationals
More Panzerfauste Previews Pop Up From Hysterical Games
Atazuma, Mighty King Of The Jungle, Coming To Godslayer
The Massive Medioevo Universalis Hits Kickstarter By Giochix
New Zulu War British Rank Up From Perry Miniatures
Nuclear Shrimp Launching New Sci-Fi Wargame Black Earth Soon
Ghastly Games Craft New Fiends Of Folklore Card Art
Star Wars Episode VIII Title Announced – The Last Jedi
Temo Brings His Poison To Bushido’s Jung Pirates
Band Of Brothers: Epic Battles Battle Pack One Now On Kickstarter
Everything Epic Shows Off Lightning For Big Trouble In Little China
Fracture Of Biel-Tan Strikes For Warhammer 40,000 In Gathering Storm II
TTCombat Gather The Faithful In Their New Chapel
West Wind Tease Secrets Of The Third Reich British “Bulldog” Walker
ThunderChild Bring Back Haramborg On Kickstarter
Backstage – Green Room
News & Rumors
Hobby & Painting Town Square
Infinity General Discussion
Pulp Punk Horror & Weird Gamer Town Square
Warhammer Fantasy General Discussion
40K General Discussion