Polar Vortex Event Live Blog This Week...
Dungeon Pranks Vol. 2...
Hordes Unboxing: Skorne Desert Hydra...
Infinity’s Ace February Releases...
Let’s Play: Shadow Games with St...
Wrath Of Kings Week Coming Next Monday...
October 13, 2010 by dignity
Darrell brings up the heavy artillery telling us that Stone Throwers and all the rest of the artillery in Warhammer Fantasy is now a little bit cheesy.
on page 109 of the BFB it says you take line of sight from “the chosen firing point (i.e its muzzle or crossbar, in the same way as for its range) this means my screaming skull catapult can easy just sit behind a unit of guys a shoot normaly over the top on them but i get hard cover if it is shot back xD
I think you got it wrong Darell… The guy on the doom diver IS the stone.
While you mentioned some of the benefits that stone throwers received you forgot to mention the fact that the Strength of the hits has changed. Only one model directly under the center hole takes the Str. 9 wound while all others under the template take Str.3 wound. This makes surviving a stone thrower hit much easier that in previous editions.
played my first game with skaven i bought from IoB with a friend and tried out of the stuff in there, first fire i did with the poisoned mortar team got me a misfire and destroyed myself, luckily no other units were close then…good times. Gotta love skaven
Hello BoW. I start playing fantasy not so long ago and I have couple of questions. Please answer. I excuse before I ever start – english isn’t native for me, so if my language goes insane and not understandable just wrote me and I paraphrase my questions.
First. Chaos Daemons and buildings. In close combat attacker can drive out garrison unit only if defender unit failed it break test and flee away. But daemons are never fails break test (because theirs special test don’t have “win” or “lose” notion at all) and never flee away. And me have only one choice – kill ‘em all. Is my thoughts right?
Second. Battle standard ads +2 to combat result and don’t stack with normal banner’s +1 mod. Or battle standard adds only +1 but cumulative with normal banners +1 modifier? Which of this two thoughts is right one.
Third and I think most tricky one. Keeper of Secrets with Spirit Swallower fights with model that have always strike first. ^___^ What happens if in start of combat phase Keeper has maximum wounds and: 1. He lost one wound and cause one wound. 2. He lost five wounds and cause five wound. 3. He lost seven wounds and cause four wounds. How about rule from sidebox on page 10? I want to say, why write “attacks are made simultaniosly” if sequensing rule says “player whose turn it is chooses the order”?
Forth. Can I declare an challenge to mage that already transforms to scary_monster_name_here (with help of this terrifing last beast lore spell)? And is this mage are still character, so can it join/leave units?
Fifth. In which sircumstance we can move characters inside unit? I find only: 1. Reform 2. Make way 3. Challenge I think it’s very important when character is general, because of inspiring prescence rule that says measure from model (not unit it is inside).
PS I don’t find where I can post rules question. So if i’m blind, please give me link where I can post this.
As has been said, their strength has changed and no longer ignore armour saves. Also, all templates (including stone throwers) hit any model even partially touching it, making them even more deadly (despite the lowered strength and no longer ignoring armour saves), ESPECIALLY against horde units (of which people are more inclined to take).
Stone thrower versus Skaven? Lots of squashed rats LOTS of 4+ to wound, with fairly minimal armour saves anyway and high chances of the scatter simply hitting another huge block.
Got some scrap wood to make myself a makeshift firld trebuchet! Cant wait.
Gonna blast some scaven right out of there!
I normally buy GW models, but Im not paying £25 for a metal representation of a piece of wood lol.
I think I´m doing it wrong with my Doom Diver. I use the small template to see if it hits anything and then roll D6 hits (after redirecting the whole template by D3 if necessary). I know in the old 7th edition one didn’t use the template but is it so even in 8th? No one I’ve played against has said anything different but I’m starting to think I’m doing it wrong?
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
The Warhammer Quest Continues With Shadows Over Hammerhal
Stormcast Vanguard Hunters Scout Ahead In Age Of Sigmar
New Pulp City Power House Leaves You Six Feet Under
Mantic Games Clash Of Kings Organised Play Supplement Up For Pre-Order
Stunning Fantasy Minis From 3Dartdigital On The Way To Kickstarter
Privateer Press Announces UK Nationals
More Panzerfauste Previews Pop Up From Hysterical Games
Atazuma, Mighty King Of The Jungle, Coming To Godslayer
The Massive Medioevo Universalis Hits Kickstarter By Giochix
New Zulu War British Rank Up From Perry Miniatures
Nuclear Shrimp Launching New Sci-Fi Wargame Black Earth Soon
Ghastly Games Craft New Fiends Of Folklore Card Art
Star Wars Episode VIII Title Announced – The Last Jedi
Temo Brings His Poison To Bushido’s Jung Pirates
Band Of Brothers: Epic Battles Battle Pack One Now On Kickstarter
Everything Epic Shows Off Lightning For Big Trouble In Little China
Hobby & Painting Town Square
Backstage – Green Room
Sci-Fi Gamer Town Square
News & Rumors
40K General Discussion
Infinity General Discussion