Let’s play: Checkpoint Charlie With ...
Hobby Night Live: Planning & Buil...
Community Spotlight: A Fiery Dropzone ...
Wild West Exodus: BETA Edition & ...
Let’s Play: Wild West Exodus ...
3 Colours Up: Painting Freehand Imperi...
January 5, 2011 by dignity
Today Vishal and Andy have a look at throwing one of the Mercenaries Warcasters in to the thick of the fighting, and giving your opponent a very bad day.
So… how would you defend against this?
That’s a video for another day…
Vish… You’re supposed to let Andy win!
You’ll find that’s a recurring theme…
Does the Dwarf not take damage from being Thrown?
Im pretty sure it still counts as a Power Attack and would need to take damage for being chucked.
Yes he does still take damage, but only at the base strength of the model throwing him. That would be 12 or 13 plus 2d6 against gortens arm 18 I think it was, plus any focus he happens to have on him. Thats a low price to pay for smashing the enemy caster
An I right in thinking that if Vish roled a six the warcaster would be thrown 12″? Thats a far throw :O
The max throw distance is half of the throwing models’ strength. There’s a bonus for throwing a small based model though.
The spot where the throwing model lands may not be where you wanted though. You place the blast marker on the intended spot. There are 6 arrows on the blast marker, each one marked 1 through 6. You roll a d6 to determine which way the model scatters, in here that was 3. After you’ve established the direction you roll another die determining the scatter distance. That was 2 in this case. This is where the model lands.
So does that mean if the scater roll was a 1,2 or 6 the dwarf would have moved forward more than the 6 inch max?
Me and my buddies just started playing Warmachine last month, I choose to go seaforge so Gorten is my warcaster. I have a few questions about how this video presented his feat it is generally how I use the feat to bring the enemy warcaster in the open and use forgegaurd/brun&lug/driller to get the kill.
However in your video you only moved the enemy warcaster, can you even do this? His card says that you move every enemy model in Gorten’s control area, the only options that appear to me are the options to choose in what order that the models get moved. I am new so I might be missing something.
The general strategy I use is to space Gorten in a way that lets him move the wall of units in front of an an enemy warcaster while the warcaster is just barely outside of Gorten’s control area move the units to the left or right the full 8 inches and unload a boosted *Both Barrels attack on the opposing warcaster while the rest of my army moves in to finish the kill. Even if I cannot get the kill the turn I landslide the rest of my opponents army is at -3spd def and rat so I can mostly ignore them for a turn and hope I get the kill next round.
Another question about Gorten comes from the people I play with; with solid ground up Gorten has an upkeep spell on himself so he cannot have another upkeep spell on him. However the debate goes that my army in Gorten’s control area is also under an upkeep spell, Solid Ground, so they cannot benefit from Solid Ground if I give them a different upkeep spell like Strength of Granite. The way I read it, Gorten’s the only one with an upkeep spell and my driller can be in my control range and have Strength of Granite and still get the benefit of Solid Ground because the model, driller, only has 1 upkeep spell Strength of Granite, and Gorten has one upkeep spell ,Solid Ground, and if the driller is in gorten’s control area he will have his +2 Str,SoG, and be immune to knock down and blast dmg, Solid Ground. In your video you seem to use this combo but I would like to make sure it is legit so I can tell my friends they are wrong.
They did it wrong. You have to move all models affected by his feat for the same distance to the same direction.
As for the solid ground debate: nothing prevents you from benefitting multiple upkeeps. However if you cast an upkeep onto model/unit who already had an friendly upkeep targeting THEM, the earlier upkeep would be dispelled.
So yes they would benefit from both spells as solid ground targets gorten and strengh of granite targets somtehing else.
Ah, I see, it would have been a little different if they had moved both ‘Jacks up, maybe no room for charge, eh?
That is a lot easier to guard against! lol
Models are move in the order chosen by Groten so it still can be hard to defend against. I recommend being behind rough terrain it slows you the same as being pushed. half distance. then at least you have a chance of other models being pulled farther than expected I play Rhuls hard core love the lil guys. i have popped Grotens feet and ended up pull couple Khador jacks further than the caster and now i got Groten stuck between 2 jack Crap! Or just suck it up Cause Merc’s Are the professional’s!
Oh and I cant believe Andy didn’t play the Rhul’s Tisk tisk
for gorten’s feat it says ” up to 8″ “. The trick there is that the up to term allows you to pick any number from 0 to 8, meaning that you don’t have to move models if you don’t want too. annother option if need be for the power attack is one that people always forget about: push. If all you need is that extra inch, then go for it!
Unfortunately this slingshot is wrong on two counts, firstly Gorten cannot be selective about enemy models that are affected by his feat, therefore the Butcher and his Jacks would have been pulled forward. Secondly after being thrown, Gorten had to forfeit either movement or action even thow he was immune to Knockdown (P.54 of the WM Rulebook), so he couldn’t have walked forward and popped feat, he would have had to do it from where he was.
Gorten’s good, but he’s not that good!
IceKarim is right in that you can move models between 0-8 inches, but once the distance is picked all models have to move that far, you cannot select different move distances for different models. If Gorten’s heavy had pushed him however, then he could have still activated normally.
It was my understanding of feats that they did not require you to have an Action to use them, based on the wording on PG 36 of the warmachine rulebook. “A warcaster can use this feat freely at any time during his activation in addition to moving and making an action” Implying its not an action to use the feat, you can do it in addition to your move and actions.
this is possible the only problem was the warjacks would have also moved but in the end it most likely would have ended the same
Click here to cancel reply.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
New 40mm Vikings Go Raiding From V&V Miniatures
Cubicle 7 Announces Age Of Sigmar Role-Playing Game!
Get A Look At The Core Rules & Primaris Stats For Warhammer 40,000
Grab A Bolt Action Airborne Starter Army From Warlord Games
Tabletop World Shows Off A Lovely Cottage & Stone Bridge
Face Off Against Bane In Monolith’s Batman Board Game
Macrocosm’s Cut’u Pirate Miniatures Arrrrrr On Kickstarter
Devil Pig Games Announce New 40K Board Game, Heroes Of Black Reach
Boris Woloszyn Sculpts Up A Mighty HeroQuest Diorama
Wood Axe Summon The Dwarven Throng With New Hornblower
Hysterical’s Orc Warlord Churg-ill Sticks It To The Enemy
What Fantasty Terrain Escenorama Has Been Tinkering Away On?
Exclusive Look At New Modiphius Star Trek Adventures RPG Miniatures!
Battle On Scenic Prospero Alongside Amon With Forge World
Step Back In History & Assassinate Targets With Flytrap Factory
New Edition Of Warhammer Fantasy Role-Play Confirmed By Cubicle 7
Laser Cutting Operative Evening Shift [4Ground]
Hobby & Painting Town Square
News & Rumors
40K General Discussion
Fantasy Gamer Town Square
Sci-Fi Gamer Town Square