Skip to toolbar

Warhammer The Old World ?

Home Forums Fantasy Tabletop Game Discussions Warhammer The Old World ?

Supported by (Turn Off)

Related Games:

This topic contains 18 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  wolfie65 1 year, 6 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author

wolfie65
    Participant
    1230xp

The announcement of the resurrection of GW’s stupidly killed flagship game having come several years ago  and the fact that this year marks the 40th anniversary of its’ inception kinda make me think that we might see the first releases – probably in the form of a starter box set – right before the ‘holiday season’, meaning October/November.

Now Warhammer was never my favorite game system, but it was, along with 40K, the by far most popular and therefore the easiest to find opponents for. I started playing it in 5th edition – ‘Herohammer’, where a couple of special characters and maybe 1 or 2 elite units would do all the damage while the rest of the ‘army’ were basically just decorations – found some things I liked and some things I didn’t in 6th, but never played subsequent editions, the local gaming scene having pretty much died off, stores closed and prices risen to such an extent that I was no longer able to justify the expense.

Besides, GW hadn’t really produced very much I actually wanted to buy since Battlefleet Gothic, and when I look at the GW webstore today, I just see bizarre weirdness at a cost that makes my skin crawl. And it’s not even metal !

But U do miss gaming and there seems to be a new store in town, not even very far away from me, so I’ve started to read some of the rumors and announcements regarding WTOW.