Strikezone: Wotan Infinity Campaign No...
Let’s Play: Fanhunter Urban Warfare ...
Grab 50% Off Special Infinity Army Bun...
The Battle Of Midway 75th Anniversary:...
Let’s Play: Holmes With Devir Games...
Let’s play: Checkpoint Charlie With ...
July 7, 2011 by dignity
Video Sponsors: Infinity - Wayland Games
Darrell has a look in to how he thinks you should be assaulting vehicles and grabing a little cover, after you’re done smacking the enemy.
Can you not consolidate into the crater caused by the destroyed/exploded tank? Then be in cover the for other players turn?
No you can’t You could argue that you are base contact with the crater, But that wouldn’t get you a cover save you need to get part of your base into the crater to get cover
ahh we’ve been playing consolidation after assaulting vehicles…
Those lemans should have been moving with their lumbering behemoth rule(unless we’re assuming a first turn assault or just a fool as your opponent), but apart from that this is basic stuff, don’t leave your units in the freakin’ open in front of your opponents shooting heavy army, they might end up that way if they don’t destroy the tank, and if its part of a squadron they’re more screwed than a mecano set.
Its just risky and random at the end of the day, but it may also take the fire off other units that you have approaching as they turn to fire at your troops assaulting.
Nice terrain board !
Immobile and 1 or all its weapons destroyed is fine for me, prevents the tank from going anywhere and i cant be shot at (blasts cant hit own models), than i demolish it in my opponent own round.
blasts can back fire when scattering back on you so blasts could hit own models
I think he meant blasts can’t be deliberately placed touching your own models,
First, you can’t consolidate after assaulting a vehicle (walkers excluded). I would make sure that my assaulting units were NOT so close together either! Just in case the vehicle does actually explode, then I’m not left in a nice close formation.
Dont you have to be in base contact if you can get in to base contact?
yup. So if they all can get into contact (note that the rules say ‘contact’ not base to base. Which helps as most vehicles don’t actually have bases) then they all have too.
BOW, you really need to get the volume on your videos sorted out. It’s something like this now:
Intro Music At A Reasonable Level (good) darreltalkingreallyquiet (I turn my volume up, much better) Darrel Talking at a Reasonable Level, post speaker increase. (Video ends, BOW volume goes WAY up) END MUSIC AND ADS!!! (and I’m deaf before I can turn my speakers down)
PLEASE BOW, I really enjoy the content, BUT, Your Delivery Needs Work!
Interesting point about the cover there Darrel. I wounder though about the vehicle explodes and replacing it with a crater. It says in the rules that you “Replace the destroyed vehicle with a sutiple crater: Well as you know there are some VERY nice looking GW craters out there. Some of which have peices of wrecked vehicle in them at interesting angles. I wounder if you were in base contact with that sort of crater, or if the height and ruggerdness of the terrain would almost count as interventing terain. Mabe it could count as a 5+ or 6+ coversave. Better than nothing when ur getting sited down by a Lemon Russ.
you are all missing the point of what the rulebook says and no Darrell it’s on page 22 not 16. It states that if models are between two elements of a piece of area terrain(the example in picture being two trees) then they count as being in cover. All you need therefore do is model the front and rear sections of a destroyed vehicle on two lips of a crater and therefore you would be between two elements. I do this with pieces of grey foam regularly at various gaming clubs and have never been accused of cheesiness. It stands to reason that there would be pieces of tank left and that these would be considered elements of the area terrain.
Click here to cancel reply.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account Click Here Why Create an Account on Beasts of War
UK Games Expo Update: Security Update + More To See & Do At The Show!
Does The New Space Marine Redemptor Dreadnought Appeal To You?
Antenociti’s Workshop Promises The “Roc” Dropship Soon
Michael Pisarski Takes The Golden Demon With Nagash
New 40mm Vikings Go Raiding From V&V Miniatures
More New Faces For The West On The Way From Knuckleduster
Cubicle 7 Announces Age Of Sigmar Role-Playing Game!
Get A Look At The Core Rules & Primaris Stats For Warhammer 40,000
Tabletop World Shows Off A Lovely Cottage & Stone Bridge
Grab A Bolt Action Airborne Starter Army From Warlord Games
Face Off Against Bane In Monolith’s Batman Board Game
Macrocosm’s Cut’u Pirate Miniatures Arrrrrr On Kickstarter
Boris Woloszyn Sculpts Up A Mighty HeroQuest Diorama
Devil Pig Games Announce New 40K Board Game, Heroes Of Black Reach
Wood Axe Summon The Dwarven Throng With New Hornblower
Hysterical’s Orc Warlord Churg-ill Sticks It To The Enemy
Laser Cutting Operative Evening Shift [4Ground]
Hobby & Painting Town Square
Historical Gamer Town Square
40K General Discussion